‘The Price of Falling’ sound track

‘The Price of Falling’ first released by me March 2011, Re-released by Two Pistols in October 2011.

‘The Price Of Falling’, my first book, was written with a sound track in mind that consisted largely of the character’s favourite band, Depeche Mode.
I love the lyrics for ‘Never Let Me Down Again’ and the dramatic music, which I first featured on the character’s car journey to the woods at night.

 

In the story I also mention the characters going to a show in Austin, Texas, for the band Revolting Cocks, aka Rev Co. I did as much research as possible and did find a date in Austin for Rev Co in 1988 on their ‘GD SOAB’ Tour.

Rev Co is one of the many side projects for a number of musicians, including Al Jourgensen, the singer from Ministry \m/

Be warned, don’t google search ‘revolting cocks’ you’ll get a nasty shock!

My aim was to mention music that sounded bizarre and perhaps a little daunting, as my main character was such a straight laced guy the reader would hopefully feel the same dubious reactions as he did when faced with a band named ‘Revolting Cocks’!
Below is an album version of ‘In the neck’ (which technically wouldn’t have been out when my novel was set, as ‘Beers, Steers and Queers’ came out in 1991, but as the names suggest it’s rather hard to find videos of their songs that aren’t incredibly offensive!

This is a rather laid back affair for Rev Co! Bear in mind that a band like this, formed of artists who voice liberated views on politics and social issues, choose names and titles like this designed to shock and provoke thought.


Now I just want to include a cover of Rod Stewart by Rev Co, and possibly one of the best rock videos ever created. ‘Do Ya Think I’m Sexy’

FYI, Ministry’s Al Jourgensen is the singing head that appears on the stripper’s body! LOL

2 thoughts on “‘The Price of Falling’ sound track

  1. Hi Melanie
    I’m a huge fan of your book ‘The price of falling’. It being my first gay themed book,I couldn’t get enough of Mike and Jason. Still can’t. I often find myself wondering,filling in the blanks of what would’ve happened. I adored how smitten Mike was. And I loved how Jason showed his love,in his own weird way.
    I know it’s unlikely,but can you please paint a picture in our minds of the physical appearance of Jason and Mike? I’d love to see how close I was to do justice to Jason’s red haired beauty and Mike’s big,muscular manliness.!!
    Your (possibly) biggest fan.
    Mansi P.

    • Aww, thank you Mansi ^_^ that’s lovely to hear, im so glad you enjoyed the story! ❤

      oh boy, inspirations huh? i usually have pictures in my mind, sometimes i'm lucky and can find images of similar-looking people to fit the characters. The guys who posed for the cover image were colleagues of mine at the time, hehe. ^_^

      For picture inspiration for Jason, i looked at (er, ogled!) pics of a young Axl Rose, and Mike's classic good looks i thought could be a buff Zac Efron.

      Hope that's what you were after?
      ^_^

Leave a Reply

